

# **South African Powerlifting Federation**

P O Box 1617 Lonehill 2062 Tel: (011) 465 3379 Fax: (011) 465 7938

## 2023 World Classic Open Powerlifting Championships – Manager's Report

The World Classic Open Powerlifting Championships was held from 10-18 June 2023 in St Julians, Malta. There were representatives from 56 countries in attendance, with 367 competitors taking part (198 men and 169 women).

Team SA consisted of 9 entrants, 4 male and 5 female.

Team South Africa set 12 African records and 2 South African National records.

#### **Overall Results**

The full results can be found here: <a href="https://www.powerlifting.sport/championships/results/2023/world-open-classic-powerlifting-championships-2023">https://www.powerlifting.sport/championships/results/2023/world-open-classic-powerlifting-championships-2023</a>

#### **Detailed Results**

Below are the detailed results for Team SA:

Name	Gender	Weight	Squat	Bench	Deadlift	Total	Medal	Records
		Cat					/Place	
Nishalin Govender	Male	73	195	117,5	280	592,5	20 <sup>th</sup>	
Sibusiso Sishi	Male	93	260	160	295	715	33 <sup>rd</sup>	
Tom Wewege	Male	105	275	190	295	760	24 <sup>th</sup>	
Pieter-Francois van Zyl	Male	120+	290	160	310	760	19 <sup>th</sup>	
Farzana Botha	Female	52	102,5	70	152,5	325	22 <sup>nd</sup>	African BP and single-lift BP records
Alexa Pentopoulos	Female	52	127,5	57,5	145	330	21 <sup>st</sup>	African SQ and Total records
Megan Leighton	Female	63	135	67,5	160	362,5	16 <sup>th</sup>	African Total record
Nicole Coopoosamy	Female	76	157,5	92,5	207,5	457,5	23 <sup>rd</sup>	SA Open BP and single-lift BP records;

President : Johan Smith

Vice President (I) : Heather Leighton

Vice President (N): Andre Ludik

eMail: hannie@lagayim.co.za

eMail: Heather.Leighton@powerlifting.sport

eMail: andreiceludik@gmail.com eMail: gail@cgmkadmin.co.za

eMail: admin@powerliftingsa.co.za





								African SQ, BP, single-lift BP and Total records
Olivia Perotti	Female	84	175	82,5	175	432,5	17 <sup>th</sup>	African BP, single-lift BP and Total records

### **Referees and Officials**

Referees and Jury: Hannie Smith, Megan Leighton, Jacqui Rees and Heather Leighton officiated as Referees, on the Jury and as MC during the championship.

Designated Safeguarding Officer: Heather Leighton

# **General Assembly**

The 2023 IPF General Assembly was held during the championships, on 14 June 2023. The minutes of the GA can be found here: <a href="https://www.powerlifting.sport/federation/general-assembly">https://www.powerlifting.sport/federation/general-assembly</a>

#### Notable points:

- Hannie Smith was re-elected as Chairman of the IPF Technical Committee
- Heather Leighton was re-elected as IPF EC Board representative for Africa

Heather Leighton (July 2023)